Farewell with Portuguese egg tarts

Portuguese egg tarts cover

I had a farewell with my friend before she left for US. We spent a great time at Lotte Mart in District 7. Then we had a light dinner with egg tarts and fried potatoes with cheese.

My friend had a baby, so we had to put the baby on the trolley while browsing around the Lotte Mart. We selected some cute toys, diapers, towels for the baby. This was my first time going shopping for baby stuff, so I felt both awkward and excited. Then we went to the KFC stall inside the mart. I like the line of single seats along the big windows. The hanging lamps near the windows were designed elegantly. The wide view of streets and buildings from the windows was fascinating.

 KFC Lotte Mart
KFC Lotte Mart
Portuguese egg tarts
Portuguese egg tarts

Portuguese egg tarts

Portuguese egg tarts

 We decided to order egg tarts and fried potatoes with cheese. A tray of egg tarts was served hot and the flavour was tasty. KFC egg tarts were Portuguese style with the puff pastry. The skin of the custard was smooth while the crust was flaky. It was a great feeling to bite the crispy crust and savour the soft egg custard. There was a slightly sweet taste of the burnt caramel on the custard.

Portuguese egg tarts

Portuguese egg tarts

Fried potatoes with cheese
Fried potatoes with cheese

Today meeting my study buddy again reminded me of university memories. We ate the egg tarts while reviewing our old stories. I met this special friend when we started to study Korean together. We had such great passion for Korean language that we spent a lot of time self-studying Korean together. We shared a lot of Korean books and discussed the Korean culture.

Two years ago, she went to her hometown to get married, and now she has a baby. She came back to meet me and other friends to say goodbye before she went to US. We used to study with another friend, but she left for US three years ago. I wonder why most of my study buddies left for US. And now I feel alone when I self-study Korean because I do not have many friends to share my hobby in real life. Therefore, I can only discuss Korean stuff with my friends online. Anyway, I hope that my friend will have a good life abroad with her family.

Portuguese egg tarts
Portuguese egg tarts
2 thoughts on “Farewell with Portuguese egg tarts

  1. Aw, I completely understand your feelings of sadness and loneliness when friends happen to move away when you shared a bond in learning a language together. I had a lovely older woman teach me Korean on a weekly basis and when we found out she was moving it was a sad time for the both of us. Thankfully, we chat on the phone with one another and also email! It’s not the same as being together in person, but it’s still nice knowing we are only a phone call or email away from one another. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

