Happy Children’s Day

Noodles with grilled pork

June 1 is the International Children’s Day, so my workplace organized a lot of activities for the kids. Every room was full of red balloons and resounded with the children’s laughter.

Happy Children's Day
Happy Children’s Day

We spent a great time playing balloons with the kids. We felt as if we became young and carefree again.

Happy Children's Day

Happy Children's Day

In the afternoon, we had a quick lunch before the meeting. The noodle with grilled pork was so delicious. The cold rice vermicelli noodles were topped with seasoned grilled pork and slices of pork sausages. The fried green onions, garlic cloves and roasted peanuts were sprinkled over the dish to give it a special flavour. Vegetables such as carrots, daikons or mints created a refreshing feeling. Another indispensable thing was the special fish sauce used to pour on the dish.

Noodles with grilled pork
Noodles with grilled pork
Noodles with grilled pork
Noodles with grilled pork
Noodles with grilled pork
Noodles with grilled pork

I suddenly recalled how excited I felt whenever the Children’s Day approached many years ago. My parents’ workplace organized a special program with many games for the employees’ children. They even set up a summer trip for the kids. I used to look forward to this time so that I could travel and had a lot of fun.

However, when I grow up, I have another perspective on travel. As for me, travel is not only for fun but also for exploration of history, culture and cuisine. Travel makes me stay fresh and energetic. I can make new friends and gain more experience after each trip. However, it becomes more difficult to travel when I start to work. I only have some limited days off a year, so arranging time for travel becomes difficult. The solution I find temporarily is to make short trips.

4 thoughts on “Happy Children’s Day

Leave a Reply

