Mooncakes for the Mid-Autumn festival

mooncake http://dddn.vcmedia.vn/KeKxIUDZFjDxu2YG4uu21NXrUn9V6/Image/2013/07/BANH-TRUNG-THU-37753.jpg
mooncake
http://dddn.vcmedia.vn/KeKxIUDZFjDxu2YG4uu21NXrUn9V6/Image/2013/07/BANH-TRUNG-THU-37753.jpg

Today is the mid-autumn festival which is popular in Asia. In Vietnam, the mid-autumn festival is called “Tet Trung Thu” while in Korea, it is called Chuseok (추석). Chuseok is a big holiday in Korea when everybody returns to their hometowns.

The Koreans hold ancestral rites in gratitude for the good harvest. After that, they visit the graves of their ancestors. Many Korean friends of mine could not buy airplane tickets, so they had to spend Chuseok in Vietnam. However, the Mid-Autumn Festival in Vietnam is different from Chuseok in Korea. The mid-autumn festival in Vietnam is often regarded as the Children’s Festival. There are many lion dances on the streets while the children are holding the lanterns and dancing. We often eat moon cakes and watched the moon . Some people even release the lanterns on the rivers.

In Korea, on Chuseok day, people often eat Songpyeon (송편) made of glutinous rice. I read on the Seoul textbook that people believe Korean girls who make beautiful Songpyeon can meet their true loves. Korean songpyeon has a half-moon shape while Vietnamese mooncake has a full-moon shape. Korean people believe that a half moon can grow into a full moon, which represents the hope for a better future. However, the Vietnamese regard a full moon as a sign of reunion.

 

Songpyeon
Songpyeon
Mooncakes  http://banhtrungthu.me/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/34.jpg
Mooncakes
http://banhtrungthu.me/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/34.jpg
mooncake http://dddn.vcmedia.vn/KeKxIUDZFjDxu2YG4uu21NXrUn9V6/Image/2013/07/BANH-TRUNG-THU-37753.jpg
mooncakes
http://dddn.vcmedia.vn/KeKxIUDZFjDxu2YG4uu21NXrUn9V6/Image/2013/07/BANH-TRUNG-THU-37753.jpg

Last year, my buddy named Coco baked the mooncakes and gave me as a present for the mid-autumn festival. I was really surprised and touched by her consideration. I think the home-made mooncakes always evoke more sheer ecstasy and distinctive taste than the ones we buy in the stores. I love to savour the tender crust of mooncakes together with the sweetness of green beans and the saltiness of yolks from salted duck eggs. This year, Coco is living in the US, so I feel very sad. Everytime I eat the mooncakes, my beautiful memories with Coco comes flooding back. 

Home-made mooncake by Coco
Home-made mooncake by Coco
5 thoughts on “Mooncakes for the Mid-Autumn festival

  1. I’ve tasted moon cakes in China before and I like the ones with chestnut. If you’re interested in how to make Songpyeon, please visit my blog.^^ I hope you had a happy holiday.

    Like

    1. The Vietnamese moon cakes are somehow similar to Chinese ones. The ingredients of our moon cakes are mostly green beans, lotus seeds and salted duck eggs.
      Thanks very much for sharing the recipe for Songpyeon. ^^

      Like

  2. Oy, these moon cakes are just too sweet for me. One of my Chinese friends had given a couple for me to celebrate New Year’s Day, but I didn’t even finish one, which was a new thing for me, considering I usually scarf up desserts whole! I remember when I had seen moon cakes mentioned on a news report (I think it was CNN) and the reporters themselves didn’t even try it because they said it had way too many calories.

    p.s. I like your new blog layout, very pretty!

    Like

    1. I agree with you that the moon cakes are really sweet However, Vietnamese moon cakes has a salted yolk in the middle, which reduces the sweetness and deepens the flavour.

      Like

Leave a Reply

